Information on Appearing in Court
Appearances & Responses
The defendant (or their attorney) may appear in person or respond by mail. Telephone appearances are not permitted.
A drop box is also available in the City Hall lobby to submit payments 24 hours a day. Payments dropped off before 7:30 a.m. will be considered as received on the previous business day.
Please contact Castle Hills Municipal Court at firstname.lastname@example.org for more information regarding submission of requests.
At their 1st appearance, a defendant (or their attorney) may request the following:
- Acquittal of Insurance Offense
- Administrative Dismissal
- Driving Safety Dismissal
- Deferred Disposition
- Payment Of Fine and Costs
- Reschedule Appearance
- Defective Equipment - Requires proof of new motor vehicle inspection by deadline and a $10 fee
- Expired Driver’s License - Requires proof of license renewal by deadline and a $20 fee
- Expired Inspection Certificate - If expired less than 60 days, requires proof of inspection renewal by deadline and a $20 fee
- Expired Vehicle Registration - If expired less than 60 days, requires proof of registration renewal (including late registration penalty fee) by deadline and a $20 fee
- Fail to Report Change of Name/Address - Requires proof that the driver’s license was updated by the deadline and a $20 fee
To request taking a Driving Safety Course to have your citation dismissed, you must meet the following requirements:
- Have a valid Texas driver’s license that is not a commercial driver’s license or be active duty military personnel including spouses and dependent children
- Have insurance or other evidence of financial responsibility
- Must be able to pay court costs plus an administrative fee at the time of request. ($109.10 outside of a school zone and $134.10 inside a school zone)
- Have not taken the Driving Safety Course within the past year to have a citation dismissed
- The violation was not committed in a construction zone when workers were present
- Cannot be speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
- Cannot be speeding 95 miles or more
- Cannot be a violation for have overtaken or passing a school bus
- Cannot be a violation for leaving the scene of an accident
If you meet the above criteria, you may request a driving safety course on or before your appearance date on your citation. When you make your request, you must provide the court the following requirements:
- Valid Texas driver's license or permit or be a member, spouse, or dependent child of a member of the U.S. military forces serving on active duty.
- A copy of your proof of financial responsibility (or insurance)
- Payment of court costs in addition to administrative fee; payment options are cash, check, money order, debit or credit card. We accept Visa, MasterCard, and Discover Card. A 5% fee will be added to all credit card transaction(s) at the clerk window. If you are mailing in your request please send a check or money order only.
- A written statement requesting to take a driving safety course; Driving Safety Course request form ( link to form)
You may make your request on or before your scheduled court date at the clerks’ window. You will need to bring all the required items listed above in order to be approved to take the Driver's Safety Course. You will be given 90 days to complete the Driver's Safety course, obtain your driving record and return your requirements to the court.
With a plea of no contest, you may request that you be granted a deferred disposition (probation) dismissal if you are not currently on probation for another violation. Other important items to know about this request are as follows:
- The total costs of a deferred disposition will be the same as the full fine amount and must be paid at any time and in any increment during the period of deferral.
- If you are charged with an insurance offense, your request must be accompanied by proof of valid liability insurance. You will be required to maintain your liability insurance coverage throughout the period of deferral, and at the end of your deferral period, present proof to the court that you maintained insurance throughout the deferral period.
- If you were under 25 years of age at the time of the offense, you must complete a driving safety course and present the certificate to the court before the end of your deferral period.
- If you were under 18 years of age at the time of the offense, you must complete a driving safety course, re-take the DPS driving test and present the certificate and test results to the court before the end of your deferral period.
The Clerk’s office will prepare the deferral order for you, or you can use the Municipal Court Deferred Disposition Request Form to make your request by mail.
Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Holders
CDL holders are not eligible for this option.
Partial Schedule of Fines
Follow this link to view the Partial Schedule of Fines assessed by the Court.
Time to Pay
Fine and costs are expected to be paid at the time of judgment. However, the Court may grant you additional time to pay the amounts due. You may appear in person to make that request or you can use the Municipal Court Time To Pay Request Form to make your request by mail.
- Acceptable methods of payment include:
- Check (except for cases in warrant status)
- Credit Card (service fees will be added to the amount being paid)
- Money order
- Online (service fees will be added to the amount being paid)